Chocolate Chip Coffee Cake

I promised you a blog makeover, did I not?

I’m so excited right now (!!) I’m excited about this new blog provider, .wordpress, and the functionality it provides: enhanced formatting, the ability to assign categories, photo editing, tracking hits, and so much more. I’m excited that importing my old blog from .blogspot was done with the click of a button. I’m excited for a new look, widgets, and the fact that I can announce my new last name to the world through a URL! Perhaps more than anything, I’m excited to get serious with this blog. With the wedding behind me (read: free time,) I’m excited to try and market my blog through more avenues than my facebook page. I can’t wait to watch what happens.

A couple of things. “Administrative” things. I’m not really going to edit or format any of my imported posts from my old blog. I’ve assigned categories to each, but that’s about it. Also, this new blog will be a work-in-progress for a while. You may see photos randomly appear and disappear, or fonts change, or last year’s blog post at the very top. Who knows what I’m doing behind-the-scene at any given moment. I’m not an html guru, ok? I’m a newb.

So, back to this being excited thing. There’s another thing I’m excited about: this chocolate chip coffee cake!!! I was determined to make this coffee cake last Monday night. It happens to be that Monday night is Bachelorette night…and it (also) so happens that the only TV show I watch is the Bachelorette, so I make a big deal of, well, watching it. My show starts at 7pm. At 6:42 on Monday, I looked at the clock, gasped, looked at Brett, and said “is it seriously already 6:42?!?!?!” “Um, yeah.” “OMG!”

I proceeded to rush into the kitchen, pull out the eggs and butter to (hopefully) reach room temperature in a matter of minutes, spilled flour all over the counter as I measured into my bowl, turned the oven to preheat….and at 7:02 pm I put that sucker in the oven! At 7:32 pm, I had a gorgeous coffee cake to devour in front of my one and only TV show. And ohhhh baby, did it get devoured. Along with my glass of 2% milk.

Please bake this.

For me.

Today.

Janet’s Chocolate Chip Coffee Cake – Everyday with Rachael Ray, May 2007

2 C all-purpose flour
1.5 tsp baking powder
1 tsp baking soda
1/2 tsp salt
1 C + 1/4 C sugar
1 tsp cinnamon
1 stick (4 oz) butter, at room temperature
2 large eggs, at room temperature
1 C sour cream
1 tsp pure vanilla extract
1 C semi-sweet chocolate chips

1. Preheat the oven to 350. Grease an 8-inch square baking pan. In a medium bowl, mix together the flour, baking soda, baking powder, and salt. In a small bowl, combine the 1/4 C sugar and cinnamon.

2. Using an electric mixer, beat together the butter and the remaining 1 cup sugar until fluffy, about 2-3 minutes. Beat in the eggs, 1 at a time, then beat in the sour cream and vanilla. Fold in the flour mixture in 2 parts, until just combined. Pour half the batter into the cake pan and sprinkle with half the chocolate chips and half the cinnamon sugar. Spoon the remaining batter as evenly as possible over the top. Sprinkle with remaining chocolate chips and cinnamon sugar.

3. Bake until golden and a toothpick inserted in center comes out clean, about 30 to 35 minutes.

This entry was posted in Chocolate, Dessert and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Chocolate Chip Coffee Cake

  1. aimee says:

    Oh yes, they were delish 🙂

Leave a Reply

