Rosemary Pork Skillet

Here’s another fun, easy and healthy main dish meal for you. This recipe has some seriously awesome flavors – fresh rosemary and citrus – and incorporates two robust vegetables: butternut squash and zucchini.

This was my first time cooking with butternut squash. I didn’t know what to expect, but I was overly excited to put that enormous bell-shaped thing into my shopping cart! So many cooking magazines feature butternut squash on a regular basis, and frankly, I’ve been out of the loop. I love bringing something new and surprising into my kitchen. I certainly had a little “oh!” moment when I cut into the squash and discovered a cavity full of seeds and stringy flesh, just like that of a pumpkin. As I expected, butternut squash also tastes a bit like pumpkin, and its firmness works well in a dish such as this that needs to simmer for awhile.

In this recipe, I used 2 very thick pork chops for Brett, and two thinner pork chops for myself. I simply set my cooked chops aside while Brett’s finished browning, and added back to the pan to continue with the recipe.

Add this to your repertoire of trustworthy weeknight meals!

Rosemary Pork Chop SkilletAdapted from Rosemary Pork Chop Skillet in “Better Homes and Gardens Cookbook”, 12th editition

4 pork chops, fat trimmed
1 TBS olive oil
1 butternut squash, peeled and cubed
1 medium onion, cut into wedges
2 sprigs fresh rosemary leaves
1/2 C chicken broth
1/2 C orange juice
2 medium zucchini, cubed
salt, pepper

1. Sprinkle pork chops with salt and pepper. Heat olive oil in large skillet over med-high heat. Add chops to skillet and brown on each side. Add squash, onion, rosemary, broth and juice to pan. Bring to boiling; reduce heat. Simmer, covered, for 10 minutes.

2. Add zucchini to pan. Cook, covered, for another 5 minutes or until chops are done. Using a slotted spoon, transfer chops and vegetables to a serving platter. Keep warm.

3. Bring reserved juices in skillet to a boil; simmer uncovered for 5 minutes until liquid is reduced to 1/2 cup. Spoon over chops and vegetables.

This entry was posted in Main Dish, Pork. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

