Chicken Kabobs with Creamy Pesto

This recipe brings up a small “issue” that I’ve been thinking way too much about. This issue is whether to include each recipe’s source, or leave it out. In nearly all of my recipes, I make several changes – I add/remove ingredients,  or change cooking times and methods. I’ve read that a recipe is considered “substantially different” if at least 3 things have been changed; I use this rule as my general guideline.

Brett recently said to me, “One thing I love about your new blog is that you’ve started naming where each recipe is from.” Only two nights later did Heather say, “I think you should consider removing each recipe’s source, since that gives credit to someone else.”

I’m so torn! On the one hand, I don’t want to get caught up in any copyright issues. Also, I think its fun for some people to know where my inspiration is from, and perhaps some people enjoy going back to the original recipe to make their own decisions regarding how they want to “doctor” it up. However, Heather makes a good point – because my recipes are nearly always different than the original recipe behind it, I don’t want it to seem as though some of my more creative approaches are actually the work of someone else.

What’s a girl to do? I appreciate any feedback, as always, but for now…I’m trying to find middle ground. I like middle ground: when everyone’s happy! Right now, middle ground is two little words: “adapted from…” As used in the recipe below, this basically means that I took a recipe from another source (i.e. I didn’t “invent” it) and re-created it to my own liking. I hope that this is a non-offensive, yet still informative, way of passing along the many recipes that land in my kitchen.

Now that I’ve aired that little secret internal battle, I encourage you to thread these kabob skewers with whatever creative ingredients come into your mind, but my itty bitty request is: please don’t change the sauce! Its too good as-is!

Chicken Kabobs with Creamy Pesto adapted from Chicken Kebabs with Creamy Pesto, Cooking Light – Sept. 2010

1 large lime
2 garlic cloves, minced
olive oil, salt, pepper, mexican spice blend
2 orange bell peppers
12-16 cherry tomatoes
3 boneless, skinless chicken breasts
2 TBS plain greek yogurt
2 TBS sour cream
1 TBS storebought pesto sauce
wooden skewers

1. In small bowl, mix yogurt, sour cream and pesto. Set aside in fridge.

2.  Soak wooden skewers in cool water while prepping other ingredients (this prevents burning when under broiler.)

3. Chop bell peppers into 1-inch pieces. Place peppers and tomatoes into medium bowl; spritz with juice of one lime, zest of the lime, and sprinkle with salt and pepper. Drizzle in a bit of olive oil, the minced garlic, and mix well.

4. Cut chicken into one-inch pieces, trimming fat as you go. Sprinkle chicken with salt, pepper, and mexican spice blend. Thread chicken, peppers and tomatoes onto skewers. Drizzle any remaining lime juice over skewers.

5. Heat oven to broil. Broil skewers for 12 minutes, turning occasionally, until lightly browned.

This was excellent with a side spinach salad topped with fresh raspberries and poppyseed dressing!

This entry was posted in Appetizer, Chicken, Hot, Main Dish. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Chicken Kabobs with Creamy Pesto

  1. Heather says:

    I like the compromise! 🙂 You’re a star and let’s be honest, we all know its not the recipe that matters its the chef that made it happen!

Leave a Reply

