Stuffed Peppers

Food has a way of evoking memories.

Sometimes these memories are good, beautiful, bountiful. For me, this is sweet potato casserole, or grilled swordfish with mango salsa.

Sometimes these memories are of crowded fun, rollercoasters, and dirty hands. For me, this is popcorn, or curly fries.

Sometimes these memories are of romance. Chocolate and red wine – not separately, but together, in the same bite – brings me these memories.

Sometimes these memories are of nostalgia. For me, this is frosted mini wheats with banana slices.

And today, I am filled with the memory of college. A specific memory, actually, of sitting at my college apartment table, nicely set with plastic dinnerware and paper towels. A stuffed pepper in front of me, that has completely collapsed onto my plastic dinnerware. The look on Brett’s face as he tastes this collapsed pepper, and grimaces at its complete lack of flavor and texture. My promise to never make a stuffed pepper again, sworn and sealed with two PBJ’s to quiet our growling stomachs.

Five years later, I pushed that memory aside. I know better than to give up on anything. I also know how to cook, much more than I did in those first few trying months.

I want a stuffed pepper, I’m gonna make a stuffed pepper.

These stuffed peppers did not collapse. They’ve got mega-flavor and awesome texture: crunchy bell pepper and crumbly, tangy beef with every bite. Spread some warm pinto beans alongside.

Stuffed Peppers – adapted from Kelsey’s Favorite Stuffed Green Peppers on Allrecipes.com

brown rice
3 large green peppers
1 lb ground beef or turkey
1 small onion, diced
1 clove garlic, minced
15 oz can tomato sauce
salt, pepper
2 TBS worcestershire
2 C shredded cheddar cheese

1. Cook rice as directed. Note that brown rice takes about 40 minutes, so factor this into your timing.

2. Wash and dry bell peppers. You can either chop the top off while the pepper is standing up, or you may set the pepper on its side and slice it down the center. Either way, remove flesh inside and seeds. Set aside.

3. In skillet, cook ground turkey. Set aside in a large bowl. Cook onion and garlic in a bit of olive oil; add to ground turkey. Into bowl, mix tomato sauce, worcestershire, and add a bit of salt and pepper to taste. Stuff peppers with mixture.

4. Bake peppers at 350 for 40 minutes. Sprinkle cheese over peppers; bake another 3-5 minutes until cheese is melted.


This entry was posted in Beef, Main Dish. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

