Slow-Cooker Beef Stew

Today marks the first day of Fall. I swear I didn’t plan it, but today is also the day I share with you one of the most traditional, hearty “comfort foods” known to the American household. This is not only a recipe for beef stew, but beef stew in the slow-cooker. Today being the Autumnal Equinox (meaning the day and night are of equal length,) I think its the perfect time for you to enjoy this classic.

Fall is glorious. I can’t say its my favorite season because truthfully, my favorite season is always the next season – I live in the future. Its a weakness! I’m working on it.

This weakness means that right now, my favorite season is Fall. I overanalyze the trees every morning on my drive to work, looking for the first shade of pink. My sweaters are patiently waiting in our spare closet to make their grand debut. A new box of Reynold’s Slow Cooker liners is sitting in my pantry. I’ve got “pumpkin patch” on my calendar and pumpkin spice lattes on my brain.

Whatever Fall means to you: I hope you savor this season in the way it deserves. Happy Autumn!

Slow-Cooker Beef Stewadapted from Slow Cooker Beef Stew I on Allrecipes.com

2 lb beef stew meat, cut into 1-inch pieces
1/4 C flour
sprinkle of salt + pepper
2 garlic cloves, minced
2 bay leaves
1 tsp paprika
1 TBS worcestershire sauce
1 onion, cut into chunks
2 C beef broth
5 red potatoes, cut into large chunks
4 carrots, cut into 1-inch pieces
2 stalks celery, chopped

Place onion, potato, carrot and celery in bottom of slow cooker. Pour broth over vegetables. Add paprika, worcestershire, bay leaves and garlic. Place beef on top of vegetables. Sprinkle flour, salt and pepper over beef, using your hands to separate and coat beef in flour.

Cook on low for 6-7 hours.

This entry was posted in Beef, Beef, Main Dish, Slow Cooker. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

