Mushroom-Stuffed Chicken over Buttered Egg Noodles

My absolute favorite place to find recipes is Allrecipes.com. These recipes are submitted by regular home cooks, tried by thousands, and every single recipe has a rating, multiple reviews, nutritional info, and photos submitted by real people. This means no fake food photos! The reviews are a great way to find out what has worked for others trying the recipe, and what hasn’t. The reviews are honest, to-the-point, and include great substitution and side dish ideas.

Because I use Allrecipes.com to hunt down 90% of my recipes, I’ve recently made a decision that was prompted by my 2-foot tall stack of cooking magazines: its time to end my magazine subscription to Cooking Light. Cooking Light has been arriving at my doorstep monthly since my sophomore year of college and I love it dearly. However, the truth of the matter is this: let’s say that Brett requests a dessert to bring to work. My first step is to check the pantry – do I have cocoa? Coconut? Condensed milk? Butterscotch chips? Butter? Eggs? Depending on what I do have, I’ll then go to Allrecipes.com and do an ingredient search. I’ll then choose a recipe that contains most of what I have on hand.

My point is, I’m unlikely to fish out my cooking magazines dating back to October 2005. Its time for me to move on. So, rather than contact Cooking Light with my new home address in 3 weeks, I plan on simply…canceling.

With all of that said, I do have loads of ripped-out articles from those many years of subscribing to Cooking Light. So yes, every so often, one will certainly come along! Such as today, when I share with you this scrumptious mushroom-filled chicken breast. I encourage you to not replace the egg noodles with spaghetti, etc. Yolk-free egg noodles complement this dish really well, as would a side of fresh green beans.

Mushroom-Stuffed Chicken over Buttered Egg Noodles – adapted from Mushroom-Stuffed Chicken from Cooking Light, April 2010

1/4 C bread crumbs
2 TBS olive oil, divided
8 oz sliced fresh mushrooms
1 clove garlic, minced
1/2 C ricotta cheese (mozzarella would work fine too)
salt and pepper
3-4 boneless, skinless chicken breasts
1/4 C flour
2 eggs, lightly beaten
buttered, cooked egg noodles

1. Preheat oven to 350.

2. Sautee mushrooms in 1 TBS olive oil for 8-10 minutes, until tender. Add garlic and saute another minute. Remove from heat; cool ten minutes. Stir in cheese and a dash of salt and pepper.

3. Cut a slit through the thickest part of the chicken breast without piercing through the other side. The goal is to make a deep pocket. Stuff each chicken breast with the mushroom mixture. Sprinkle chicken with a bit more salt and pepper. Secure chicken breasts with toothpicks.

4. Here’s where it gets messy! Hang in there. Place flour in a shallow dish. Place bread crumbs in a separate shallow dish. Place eggs in a third shallow dish. Dredge chicken in flour, then egg, then bread crumbs.

5. Heat remaining 1 TBS olive oil over med-high heat. Saute chicken until browned (approx. 2 minutes per side.) Place chicken in pan and bake for 15-20 minutes, until cooked through. Remove toothpicks before serving. Serve over buttered, cooked egg noodles.

This entry was posted in Chicken, Chicken, Main Dish, Pasta. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

