Slow-Cooker Beef Brisket

I love a successful first attempt at a new dish or recipe. This week, success was mine: this was my first time making brisket and it turned out superb! I have very little experience shopping for or cooking many types of red meat…I didn’t even know what to look for at the grocery store when searching for brisket. I hardly know what a raw brisket looks like. I dug around aimlessly through the rump roast and skirt steak and beef loin, thinking maybe brisket has some secret, alternative name. Finally, right there in front of me: “Brisket.”

Got it. Got my brisket….

…for FOURTEEN DOLLARS?! It was too late. I had all other ingredients in my cart and, more importantly, brisket on the brain. The meat weighed 2.75 lbs which I was very proud to announce to my husband…until I flipped it over and discovered that one-third of the meat was a layer of fat. I removed a good part of it for health reasons, and left a good part of it for indulgence reasons.

Fourteen dollars or not, I can’t say enough good things about this brisket. The flavor, the tenderness, the simplicity!! A huge fan of slow-cooker meals (who isn’t?), I’ve decided that this is most certainly in my top five.

Slow-Cooker Beef Brisket adapted from Barbecued Beef Brisket on Allrecipes.com

1 tsp salt, 1/2 tsp pepper
1 tsp poultry seasoning
2.5 – 3 lbs beef brisket, trimmed
1/2 C ketchup
1/2 C chili sauce
1/4 C brown sugar
2-3 TBS white vinegar
1 TBS dijon mustard
1-2 TBS worcestershire sauce
1-2 TBS soy sauce
1 tsp cayenne pepper

1. Rub brisket well with salt, pepper and poultry seasoning. Mix remaining ingredients in a bowl, adjusting to taste. Place brisket in slow-cooker and pour 3/4 of the sauce over meat (place leftover sauce in fridge.) Cook brisket over low heat for 6-7 hours.

2. Remove brisket from slow-cooker and place on wooden cutting board to cool. While cooling, remove leftover sauce from fridge and add approx. 1/4 C of cooking liquid to sauce; whisk well. Cut brisket against the grain before serving and drizzle with sauce.


This entry was posted in Beef, Main Dish. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Slow-Cooker Beef Brisket

  1. Joan says:

    Brisket is so much fun and versatile. As are ribs. You’ll have fun trying new things once you get a smoker/barbequer too. And maybe see if you can talk some of those great KC barbeque chefs into sharing their recipes with you!

Leave a Reply

