Autumn Soup

I can’t go too long without satisfying my love for soup. I believe that soup is underrated and it took me two cold seasons to convince my husband that soup is not just a bowl of broth with some vegetables. Soup can and should be very filling, and full of color and varying textures.

Feel free to replace the sausage in this soup with ground beef, ground turkey, shredded cooked chicken, or no meat at all. I will also say that this soup recipe (as written) has quite a bit of fat that floats to the top, so feel free to remove this if it makes you feel better about eating it.

As my mom recently mentioned, it has been TWO years since I started this blog and I can’t believe how many new recipes I’ve attempted in that time. This experience (blogging about cooking) has been and continues to be so rewarding, and I see no end in sight.

Happy 2011 to you and your loved ones and I wish you a year full of health, prosperity, and peace.

Autumn Soup adapted from Autumn Soup in Miles & Miles of Good Cookin’

1 lb ground sausage
1 small onion, diced
3 celery hearts, diced
3 carrots, diced
15 oz can diced tomatoes with juice
2 medium potatoes, diced
6 cups water
pinch of salt, pepper, basil

Brown sausage in stockpot. Add onions. Drain fat. Add remaining ingredients and simmer at least 20 minutes.

This entry was posted in Broth-Based, Soup. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Autumn Soup

  1. Pingback: Winter Soup | Mind, Body & Belly

  2. Pingback: Winter Soup | Mind, Body & Belly

Leave a Reply

