You Name Em: Cream Cheese Yellow Cake Bars

Brett’s 25 birthday was this past Thursday. One of the informal “rules” at his engineering firm is that, when its your birthday, you bring in treats to share with coworkers. I’m always looking for a good excuse to cook/bake for groups of people, and I couldn’t wait to send Brett off with a couple of good things to share.

I decided to make a breakfast casserole in addition to these dessert bars, a recipe given to me by my friend Morgan awhile back. I didn’t actually take photos of the breakfast casserole because I finished it up at 6 am and needless to say, that’s not when my photography skills are in their prime. However, I made sure to get good pics of these dessert bars the night before because they are just too good to overlook; the bottom half of the bars is made with moist yellow cake, and the top half is a sweet cream cheese mixture that lightly browns and “cracks” during baking.

When Morgan gave me this recipe, she called them “You Name Em’s.” I was able to find a few recipes for these online and they do go by a variety of names. I guess I’ll call them Cream Cheese Yellow Cake Bars. You, however, can call them whatever you want!

Cream Cheese Yellow Cake Bars from my friend Morgan

1 box yellow cake mix
1 stick butter, melted
1 egg

Mix well in medium bowl. Press into bottom of casserole dish.

8 oz cream cheese, softened
2 eggs
3.5 C powdered (confectioner’s) sugar

Mix well and pour over yellow cake crust. On lowest oven rack, bake at 350 for 15 minutes, then 300 for 30 minutes. Bars are done when knife in center comes out clean.  (Note – if you have a convection oven, use it for this recipe!) Cool completely and cut into bars.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

