Slow-Cooker BBQ Pork Ribs

About a week and a half ago, I had all four of my wisdom teeth removed under general anesthesia. It was…rough. To put it lightly.

You see, I had my pretty little head in the clouds. I thought, I’ll take a couple days off of work, lounge around. Read some books, watch some movies. Maybe bake some cupcakes, work outside if I’m feeling up to it! Dare I say, I was a teeny tiny bit looking forward to this relaxing time off!

I so had it comin’.

Day One: Barely remember. A smoothie, half a codeine pill, ice packs.
Day Two: Surprisingly, lots of energy. A shower. Even a short trip to a local shopping area where – no joke – I almost bought a betta fish out of boredom. In retrospect, I think I was still under some sort of…sedation.
Day Three: I actually cried this day, twice, from emotional exhaustion. For those that know me, I’m not a crier. I was HUNGRY! That’s my excuse.
Day Four: I.am.so.sick.of.soup.
Day Five: Back to work. My boss’ boss looks at me and says: “Are you sure you should be here?” Soup all day. My hundredth Google search on healing time, wisdom teeth.
Day Six: My first day sans 1800 milligrams of Motrin! More soup.
Day Seven: Stitches fall out, energy is back, and I’m myself again. Meaning, I ate a cheeseburger and fries for dinner, and savored every bite.

Onto the recipe I must go! Day Four, before my grocery shopping, I asked Brett for food ideas that would be substantial yet soft for my poor mouth. Brett tossed out a brilliant idea: slow-cooker ribs. The meat falls right off the bone and leaves plenty of yummy sauce in the pan to drizzle over mashed potatoes.

In addition to this recipe, there is one final thing that I need to share: sometimes, I’m a whiner. I really did have a rough week, but I kept reminding myself to keep it in perspective. I’m fortunate to have the insurance, and the funds, for medical care. Many people don’t. I’m fortunate that I can enjoy many types of food each day, and find myself missing burgers or chips. Many people can’t choose. I’m fortunate that this surgery was elective. Many people having surgery haven’t chosen it. I’m fortunate for a husband, family and friends who checked in on me regularly, keeping my spirits high. Many people don’t have this kind of support network.

Sorry to get all sappy on you. Go make these ribs and enjoy!

Slow-Cooker BBQ Pork Ribs – adapted from Slow Cooker Barbecue Ribs on Allrecipes.com

4 lbs pork ribs
salt and pepper
2 C ketchup
1 C chili sauce
1/2 C brown sugar
1/4 C vinegar
2 tsp oregano
2 tsp worcestershire
2 tsp hot sauce
anything else you have in mind – mustard powder, garlic powder, soy sauce, minced onion, minced jalepenos, etc. etc

1. Heat oven to 400. Sprinkle both sides of ribs with salt and pepper. Cook 15 minutes on each side. Drain fat.

2. Mix all other ingredients well. Pour some sauce on bottom of slow cooker. Place ribs over sauce (cut in half if needed to fit inside slow cooker.) Pour remaining sauce over ribs. Cook on low 6-7 hours, flipping ribs once.

This entry was posted in Main Dish, Pork. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

