Chocolate Chip Banana Bread

I gotta be honest, its been a crazy week. My sleep schedule has been whack and I’ve been busy with work, so this post is “late” (I aim for at least one post a week.) This is not even the recipe I said it would be – I told you I would be making sour cream banana bread, and decided at the last minute to switch it up and make chocolate chip banana bread.

I know you’re not upset with me šŸ™‚

Brett has been bringing home bananas by the truckload lately as part of his get-ready-for-summer workout and diet routine. Neither of us are accustomed to having much fruit in the house, so it often goes uneaten. When I see that the bananas are starting to ripen, I always remind Brett that they’re waiting to be eaten….but when I see them turn brown, I do a little happy dance inside. And then I wait another 3 or 4 days, because bananas for bread need to be disgustingly brown and mushy, to the point of nearly collapsing when you peel them. When bananas have reached this point, the fruit is almost fermented and very, very sweet with intense banana flavor – just what you want when mixing into bread dough!

This recipe makes 2 loaves. I made them last night, and we’ve already polished off the first one. So much for Brett’s diet, eh?

Chocolate Chip Banana Breadadapted from Chocolate Chip Banana Bread II on Allrecipes.com

2 sticks salted sweet cream butter, softened
1 C white sugar
1 C brown sugar
2 large eggs at room temp
2 TBS mayonnaise
6 very ripe bananas
3 C flour
1/2 tsp salt
1 tsp baking powder
2 tsp baking soda
1 C semi-sweet chocolate chips
1/2 C finely chopped walnuts (optional)

Preheat oven to 350. In medium bowl, mix sugars and butter using hand mixer until fluffy. Add eggs one at a time. Mix well. Add mayonnaise and bananas. Mix well.

In separate bowl, mix flour, salt, baking powder and baking soda. Dump flour mixture into banana mixture, using a large spoon to stir until just moistened. Fold in chocolate chips and walnuts.

Grease 2 loaf pans. Pour dough into pans and bake at 350 for 50 to 70 minutes until knife inserted in center comes out clean.

(Sorry for the mediocre picture!)

This entry was posted in Bread. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

