PW’s Sour Cream Noodle Bake

I’m one of those home cooks who just doesn’t do many casseroles. Although they are generally so simple, so filling, and so delicious, it seems that most casserole recipes call for a crazy amount of processed cream soup, mayonnaise, cheese, and butter. Don’t be mistaken: yours truly LOVES all of the above. But, I also feel this inherent responsibility to put food on the table that will keep both my husband and myself living healthy, nutritious lives…and that is worth more to me than the convenience that a casserole provides. That’s the reason why you rarely see casseroles posted on my blog.

But, all things are okay in moderation, right? I think that you’ll be pleased that of the very few casseroles I choose to make, this one made the cut. I still love to peruse Pioneer Woman’s website when looking for dinner ideas and I was intrigued by the pictures and ingredients in this recipe. I used ground turkey, yolk-free egg noodles, and low fat dairy ingredients to make this casserole more heart-healthy and waistline-friendly. I served with soft dinner rolls and Brett ate nearly half the pan in one sitting. Maybe it’s just a little bit too good!

Sour Cream Noodle Bake – adapted from Pioneer Woman

1 lb ground beef or turkey
15 oz tomato sauce
pinch of salt + pepper
8 oz dry egg noodles
1/2 C sour cream
1 1/4 C cottage cheese
several green onions, sliced
1 C shredded cheddar cheese

Preheat oven to 350. Brown meat and drain fat. Add salt, pepper and tomato sauce. Simmer. Cook egg noodles until al dente (don’t overcook!!)

Combine sour cream, cottage cheese, green onions and a bit more black pepper. Mix well.

Drain noodles and combine with sour cream mixture. Spray a 9×13 casserole pan with PAM. Layer half of the noodles on the bottom of the pan, then layer half of the meat mixture and half of the cheese. Repeat all three layers with remaining ingredients.

Cover with foil and bake 20 minutes. Remove foil last 5 minutes of baking.


 

This entry was posted in Beef, Casserole, Main Dish. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to PW’s Sour Cream Noodle Bake

  1. Julie says:

    I grew up on foods like this. And I love them too. You can keep your fancy food and give me comfort food. 🙂

Leave a Reply

