Earthquake Cookies!

Yesterday, Brett and I experienced a truly once-in-a-lifetime event.

At 10:53 pm, we were on the couch waiting for the final judgement in an episode of Iron Chef (secret ingredient: Oatmeal.) I felt our couch start shaking, and it felt exactly like when one of our cats starts scratching the side of the couch, so I prepared to lean over and reprimand the cat! I then noticed that both cats were sleeping soundly – and the couch was still shaking, a little more vigorously with each passing second. I looked at Brett, who looked at me, and we both stared at each other before one us snapped out of it and said the word, “earthquake.” Some things were rattling in our kitchen as well, but it started (and ended) so quickly that I didn’t get a chance to look around the room for swinging light fixtures, etc. I would estimate that we felt the shaking for ten seconds max. When it had stopped, we noticed all of our neighbors flipping on lights, etc. so I knew we hadn’t imagined anything! Our cell phones also started going crazy; many of our friends and coworkers were just as excited and confused as we were.

As it turns out, the earthquake’s epicenter was in Northern Oklahoma and the tremors were felt all the way to from Kansas City to Dallas. It was estimated at 5.6 on the scale, a record for the state. Luckily there haven’t been reports of serious damage or injuries. Because of this, I decided to have a little fun with this occurrence. I’ve been doing lots of baking on Sundays, and I vaguely remembered hearing something about earthquake cookies at some point in my life. A quick google search revealed an easy, 5-ingredient recipe for these yummy cookies which I’ve had at many holiday gatherings. Called earthquake cookies for a reason, the cookie batter cracks while baking, leaving dramatic crevices in the cookie. Don’t be worried – the cookies are extremely moist and chewy!

Earthquake Cookies – from Earthquake Cookies on Allrecipes.com

1 box devil’s food cake mix
2 large eggs
1 TBS water
1/2 C crisco shortening
1/2 C powdered sugar

Mix first four ingredients well, using your hands. Refrigerate dough for an hour. Preheat oven to 375 (350 for convection oven). Using a scoop or spoon, form small balls with the dough and roll in powdered sugar. Place on cookie sheet and bake 8-10 minutes. Do not overbake!

 

 

This entry was posted in Chocolate, Cookie, Dessert. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Earthquake Cookies!

  1. Julie says:

    That is soooooooo weird. I made these same cookies last night (with slight variations)!! And I was in the earthquake “zone” too.

Leave a Reply

