Mexican Taco Bake

Generally if I’m craving homemade mexican food, I decide on one of the following: (1) enchiladas, if I’ve got a few hours of time and I’m in the mood to make a mess, or (2) sanchos, fajitas, or quesadillas if I’ve got 20 minutes on a weeknight and an extra packet of taco seasoning that needs to be used. Rarely do I branch out when making mexican food at home, unless its swapping chicken with beef, or vice versa.

Last week, I knew I wanted the spicy flavors of a mexican dish but I wasn’t drawn to anything on the normal list. With a busy week ahead of me, I needed something that would last us several nights. I found a popular Mexican casserole recipe on Allrecipes.com and made a few changes. I casually threw this casserole together, spending less time on careful preparation than I normally would; I just wasn’t all that excited about it from the getgo.

As soon as I pulled the bubbly, cheesy, creamy, crunchy casserole from the oven, I knew we were in for a treat. Brett actually got thirds and we put down half the casserole in one night! It was that.good. This recipe shot straight to the top of our favorite recipe list and I can’t wait to have more fun with this in the future….shredded chicken, different salsas, etc.

Mexican Taco Bake – adapted from Easy Mexican Casserole on Allrecipes.com

1 lb ground turkey
1/2 yellow onion, finely chopped
1 packet taco seasoning
2 C salsa (I used hot Pace Picante’s chunky salsa)
16 oz chili beans (I used hot)
several large handfuls of corn tortilla chips (Santitas is my go-to!)
2 C sour cream
small can sliced olives
2 small roma tomatoes, diced
2 C shredded cheddar cheese

1. Preheat oven to 350. In large skillet, brown turkey and cook onion until translucent. Add taco seasoning and salsa; mix well. Drain beans very well and add to meat mixture. Heat through (simmer several minutes if your salsa made the mixture watery.)

2. Spray large casserole dish with Pam. Place chips on bottom of pan and using your hand, lightly press into the pan until they break into large pieces. Spread meat mixture over chips. Spread sour cream on top, followed by olives, tomatoes, and cheddar cheese. Bake 25-30 minutes until casserole is bubbly and hot.

This entry was posted in Beef, Beef/Turkey, Casserole, Main Dish, Mexican. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

