Fajita Steak Quesadillas

This recipe was a special request from my favorite person in the world….Brett! Every weekend I toss out the question, “any dinner requests this week?” I rarely get a reply, but last week I did. Brett quizzed me with: “What dish do I order basically every time we go to a restaurant?” I think I got it right on my second guess (steak fajita quesadillas…) He then claimed that I’ve never made them (not true) but I gave in anyway because they sounded so good!

I always try to have a picture of my recipes but unfortunately I couldn’t get a good picture of this final product. Something about the quesadillas being very flat (and a tortilla doesn’t have much color…) just didn’t give me much to work with. Thankfully I DID take a good picture of the actual steak and pepper filling to share with you.

Last but not least….Target now sells a small canister of taco seasoning. Perfect! I’m so tired of buying packet after packet of taco seasoning for whatever mexican dish we’re having that week. The canister only cost a few bucks, so I’m sure its cheaper in the long run as well.

Feel free to sub out the steak with chicken or shrimp…and any type of bell pepper or other veggie!

Fajita Steak Quesadillas – no recipe source

Flank or strip steak (approx. 1 lb)
2 green bell peppers
1 yellow onion
1 packet or 2 tbs taco seasoning
2 C shredded cheese
4 large tortillas
sour cream and salsa for serving

Thinly slice peppers and onions. Sautee in 1 TBS olive oil until very tender. Remove from pan and set aside. Thinly slice flank steak and saute in pan for just a couple of minutes (medium rare.) Place peppers and onions back in pan with steak and add taco seasoning. Add two TBS water if pan is very dry. Turn off heat. Place a tortilla on a plate and on one half of the tortilla, place one-fourth of your beef mixture and 1/3 C shredded cheese. Fold tortilla in half and press down firmly. Repeat with remaining tortillas. At this point, the quesadillas can be either grilled on an indoor grill, or baked at about 300 degrees. Quesadillas are ready when very bubbly and hot! Cut in half to serve.

This entry was posted in Beef, Beef/Turkey, Main Dish, Mexican. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

