Cajun-Style Meatloaf

Believe it or not….here I am today with the recipe I’ve been promising!

So, as I mentioned, our SD card is broken, and I lost quite a few of my food pics. No big deal. Lucky for me, when I made this meatloaf recipe, I decided to take a picture to send to a friend, so I happened to have a back-up picture of this recipe. It’s not the best quality, but it works.

Other things that have been going on over the last 2 months which have prevented me from blogging….

-I’ve been traveling to Houston for work about every 3 weeks. Luckily my next trip isn’t for quite some time!

-Brett has been traveling to Missouri for work about every 3 weeks. So when I’m home and he’s not, I don’t cook. Instead, I buy Hot Pockets.

-I took up running and it’s sort of consuming my life, in the best way possible. But, it’s time to find a sustainable routine that allows me to run consistently, and still make home-cooked meals 2-3 times per week.

-The weather has warmed up. Meaning that nights when we we’re both home, there’s a good chance we’re grilling with the neighbors, and this doesn’t give me many new recipes to work with.

So how ’bout this meatloaf. I served this VERY flavorful, bold, and juicy meatloaf over a big pile of red mashed potatoes…and died and went to heaven. I hoped this recipe would serve us for 2 full nights (maybe even a lunch, as well) but we both loved it so much that we stuffed ourselves full and didn’t have much left over after night one. This will absolutely go onto our regular rotation.

Enjoy!

Cajun-Style Meatloaf – adapted from Cajun Style Meatloaf on Allrecipes.com

2 bay leaves, salt, pepper, cayenne, cumin
2 TBS olive oil
small onion, diced
small green bell pepper, diced
4 garlic cloves, minced
1 TBS tabasco
1 TBS worcestershire sauce
4 oz evaporated milk
1/2 C ketchup
1.5 lb ground turkey
0.5 lb ground hot italian sausage
2 eggs
1 C dried bread crumbs

1. Combine seasonings in small bowl and set aside.

2. Heat olive oil over med/high heat, and add onion and peppers. Cook several minutes and add garlic, seasoning mix, tabasco and worcestershire sauce. Cook several more minutes until mixture starts to stick to pan, and add evaporated milk and ketchup. Cook several more minutes, stirring occasionally. Remove from heat.

3. Put ground turkey, ground sausage, eggs and bread crumbs into large bowl. Using a spoon, mix well. Add vegetable/seasoning mixture and continue to mix very well. Your arm might get tired, but keep going!!! If you’re brave and the mixture has cooled down, use your hands. Remove the bay leaves.

4. Shape mixture into a loaf 1.5-inches tall and place in a 9×13 casserole dish. Bake at 350 for 25 minutes. Increase to 400 degrees and bake an additional 35 minutes. Juices will run clear when cooked through. Let stand 10 minutes before slicing.
 



This entry was posted in Beef, Main Dish, Pork, Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

